ExtraTorrent.cc - The Largest Bittorent SystemLogin   |   Register
Latest Articles
Most searched
Hot torrents
First Cams
View Torrent Info: Allied 2016 HDCAM x264 AC3 HQMic-CPG
View Torrent Info: Underworld Blood Wars 2016 HDCAM NAKRO
View Torrent Info: Moana 2016 HD-TS XviD AC3-CPG
View Torrent Info: Shut.In.2016.HDCAM.x264 - Lesnar
Hot torrents
XVID DIVX
View Torrent Info: The Fight Within.2016.HDRip.XviD.AC3-EVO
View Torrent Info: Spectral.2016.HDRip.XviD.AC3-EVO
View Torrent Info: The.Disappointments.Room.2016.DVDRip.XviD.AC3-EVO
View Torrent Info: All.We.Had.2016.HDRip.XviD.AC3-EVO
Hot torrents
H264 X264
View Torrent Info: Finding.Dory.2016.BluRay.720p.DTS.AC3.x264-ETRG
View Torrent Info: Finding.Nemo.2003.BluRay.720p.DTS.AC3.AAC.x264-ETRG
View Torrent Info: Hillsong.Let.Hope.Rise.2016.720p.BRRip.x264.AAC-ETRG
View Torrent Info: The Light Between Oceans (2016) 720p WEB-DL - 1.2GB - ShAaNiG
Hot torrents
Television
View Torrent Info: The.Vampire.Diaries.S08E07.HDTV.x264-LOL[ettv]
View Torrent Info: MacGyver.2016.S01E10.HDTV.x264-LOL[ettv]
View Torrent Info: Hawaii.Five-0.2010.S07E10.HDTV.x264-LOL[ettv]
View Torrent Info: Hells.Kitchen.US.S16E09.HDTV.x264-FUM[ettv]
View Torrent Info: BEFIKRE (2016) 1CD Desi PDvD Rip x264 AAC 2.0 (De-Flickered) -DDR
View Torrent Info: Bidyesh - The Envy (2016) x264 DvDRip AC3 5.1 ESub -DDR
View Torrent Info: Housefull 3 (2016) HQ 1080p Blu-Ray x264 DTSHD-MA 7.1 MSubs -DDR
View Torrent Info: AE DIL HAI MUSHKIL (2016) HEVC x265 10 Bits DvDRip AAC 5.1 ESub -DDR
30s
Chat
To add new messages please Login or Register for FREE
Warning! Protect Yourself from Lawsuits and Fines!
Your IP Address is 50.16.125.253.   Location is United States
Your IP Address is visible to EVERYONE. Hide your IP ADDRESS with a VPN while torrenting!
ExtraTorrent strongly recommends using Trust.Zone VPN to anonymize your torrenting. It's FREE!

ExtraTorrent.cc > Articles > British ISPs About to Win Judicial Review of Copyright Law

British ISPs About to Win Judicial Review of Copyright Law

British ISPs About to Win Judicial Review of Copyright Law

Added: Friday, November 19th, 2010
Category: Recent Headlines Involving File Sharing > Ridiculous Criminal Trials
Tags:ET, p2p, Torrent, Piracy, Peer To Peer, Network, Hackers, Internet, BitTorrent, Google, utorrent, bitcomet, extratorrent, 2010, www.extrattorrent.com
Almost 4 months the UK’s ISPs TalkTalk and BT spent in waiting after they had asked High Court to check whether the Digital Economy Act was passed into law with or without passing through all proper parliamentary procedures. Besides, the broadband providers expressed their concerns that some of suggested measures supposed to tackle unauthorized file-sharing may violate the fundamental rights and freedoms of UK’s people. Finally, Mr Justice Wyn Williams seems ready to hand out the decision on the issue.

gavel3.jpg

The British Internet service providers TalkTalk and BT had asked the High Court to decide on the legitimacy of the DEA almost 4 months ago, and now they are finally about to get a respond.

The ISPs were particularly concerned with the obligations the new law imposed, because they could be simply incompatible with the main European rules developed to make sure that national legislation protects citizen’s privacy and restricts the role of broadband providers in policing the web. That was the main reason for them to call for a review of the law.

Indeed, the DEA includes sections allowing the government to order Internet service providers to sanction their customers with account suspension, as well as with bandwidth throttling, or other methods in order to tackle unauthorized file-sharing. Moreover, the law introduced a ban on public access Wi-Fi, fearing that churches, libraries, cafes, and universities can become the loopholes for copyright violation within the “three-strikes” regime.

The other thing the ISPs worried about was that the Bill in question was hurried through the so-called “wash-up” period, which means that it never went through the proper parliamentary procedures and wasn’t scrutinized correctly. In fact, when the Bill has been rushed through, the broadband providers, along with the Internet users were appalled by the ability of multinational entertainment companies to influence government’s decision, which led to the absence of almost any debate by Members of Parliament.

UK’s ISPs say they are not trying to prevent the government from fighting unauthorized file-sharing, but are just willing it to ensure the law is done in a fair and legal way to correctly respect the interests of citizens. With the government’s decision to abolish disconnection clause, it seems like the balance between the rights of copyright owners and consumers is renewed.




By:
SaM
November 19th, 2010

Posted by: 
SaM

Date:  Friday, November 19th, 2010



Comments (9) (please add your comment »)

1
posted by (2010-11-19 15:22:14)
macbeth avatarthat is what im talking about, fairness, and likely enough im moving to talktalk lol but atleast their are seeing it from a different view, thanks for this sam :)

2
posted by (2010-11-19 23:20:11)
GMD avatarI wouldnt move to talk talk, not unless you like constant disconnections and really poor tech help.
As soon as my contract is up im leaving.
On the plus side I have never recieved one letter from them with my questionable internet habits
But maybe that is because i can never get on the internet :p

3
posted by (2010-11-20 07:55:44)
fergus avatarI am with O2 20Gb download speed for 6.49 a month BARGIN!!!

4
posted by (2010-11-20 14:25:01)
katep avatarI am also with 02 and my speed is never what I pay for it goes up and down but when this law comes in I am getting a vpn

5
posted by ET junkieET lovermen (2010-11-20 22:43:46)
wingit3 avatarI'm with Sky and I have to say that as I am only about 2km from my exchange, my connection speed is brilliant. I can download a 1.5gig movie in about 10 to 15 mins. I get about 12 megs unlimited all the time and have had no letters. Your connection speed is dependant on how far away your telephone exchange is. I guess I'm fortunate on that score.. Talk talk only offered me 4megs..

6
posted by ET junkieET lovermen (2010-11-20 22:49:15)
wingit3 avatarfergus. Check your paper work. you are getting UP TO 20meg for 6.49 a month which equates to about 6to8 megs. No one is providing 20Gb not for 6.49 lol

7
posted by Blocked (2010-11-22 08:56:57)
mrblue00 avatarHello my fellow seeders welcome to another rant !! First off lets put this in order to enact this law it HAS to go through parliment then through Lords chambers to be rdiculed and scorned over then back to the parliment chamber for any changes the lords want then back to lords to check the back to parliment and other suchTAX waisting bodies before it can become a law ....... are keeping up my fellow sexy seeders? good lets have a toot on ye olde weedy pipe and think about the uk right now .... 2nd off TAX revs !!!! the gov will not even ban fags becaus eof the amount of cash they get of it they pull in just as much from the ISP and the people who use them !!! and they want 99% of the uk population to have internet in their homes by 2014 thus it would make no sence to bring any laws in that would jeperdise more taxes on the uk populus ... 3rd off they really couldn't give a rats ass about downloading in itself infact they are very happy for the ips to now say and i quote " ulimited download " (talk talk) of vidoes music games and other media !! legal or not legal they won't be losing sleep over it so i will say this keep downloading don't give a hoot on what may get brought up in the palace of westminter they have more far pressing duties to perform ( like spending my hard earned f&%king money !! ) now some muchies (food) for thought to encat this law it also will have to go through a process in euro law as it would mean inhibting at least 3 freedom rights to sum this all up for you it WOULD cost more to enact the law and keep tabs than it would be worth !!! and think of this anything David Cameron brings in can and may be removed in 5 yrs time when labour get back in power anyway so my little seeding siblings dont lose to much sleep just keep smoking the pipe of peace good night and sleep tight whilst your pc chugs along its merry way downloading :o)

8
posted by Blocked (2010-11-22 10:16:21)
mrblue00 avatarI WANT THOSE NEW SEXY FIBRE OPTIC 20 MEG CABLES IN MY HOME TO COPULATE WITH NO MORE OF THIS SEEDY COPPER WIRE. GET OUT OF MY BED NOW COPPER WIRE

9
posted by ET junkieET loverTurtle (2010-11-22 20:21:21)
fusseltier avatarfergus, what do you mean? 20gb download speed?
do you mean 20mbps? that means megabit per second...
or do you mean, you can download 20 gigabytes fast?
i havent heard other than in scandinavia gigabit connections.
even in switzerland, we only had up to 20mbps to your home.



Articles Search
Most Popular Stories
Articles Categories
Articles Tags


Home - Browse Torrents - Upload Torrent - Stat - Forum - FAQ - Login
ExtraTorrent.cc is in compliance with copyrights
BitCoin: 12DiyqsWhENahDzdhdYsRrCw8FPQVcCkcm
Can't load ExtraTorrent? Try our official mirrors: etmirror.com - etproxy.com - extratorrentonline.com - extratorrentlive.com
2006-2016 ExtraTorrent.cc5